The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business by Charles Duhigg (2012)

PowerofHabitI listened to this book and, while the narrator’s voice was dissonant and annoying (I’m very picky about my readers), the content soon drowned him out. With each new revelation about how strongly habits dictate our lives – individually, at work and in society – I began to examine my own patterns of behaviour. I thought about the successful changes in my life (abstaining from sugary drinks and fast food) and those I have been less successful with (doing cruches at the gym) and how I might alter my routine in order to achieve my goals. Identifying the pattern is the first step. What is the cue that sets you off down a desired or undesirable path? What is the unthinking routine? What is the reward? Some other take-aways: After identifying the need, make a plan that substitutes a new routine to acheive the same reward. Set yourself up for small victories. Then go for another small victory. This will add up to a big victory. Illuminating.

Leave a Reply

