Astonishing X-Men: Gifted by Joss Whedon (2004)

giftedSo I made a new friend recently and it led to my reading this graphic novel. I’ve always been a fan of the X-men movies but I never got around to reading any of the source material. When new friend learned of my Joss Whedon adoration, he paired me with Astonishing X-Men.

Whedon makes the convoluted world of mutants moderately accessible (I’m glad I’ve seen the other major super hero movies released in the last 5-8 years) and he writes amazing dialog (as usual). Now, I just have to try tackling the Essential X-Men anthology (which is in black and white – ug).

The main characters in Astonishing X-Men are team leaders Cyclops and Emma Frost (who replaces Jean as Scott’s love interest), Wolverine, Beast, and Kitty Pryde. This small team attempts to reconnect with humans by using their superpowers for good. When word of a mutant gene cure is released, it causes a riot among those desirous to be cured. Then an alien named Ord appears seeking to harm all mutants. Enter Nick Fury, S.H.I.E.L.D., and S.W.O.R.D., and it’s a brawl.

Leave a Reply

