Dead as a Doornail by Charlaine Harris (2005)

“When I stayed at your house, Sookie…”
I groaned. “Oh, Eric, give it a rest” (p 59).

deadasadoornailIn which supernatural beings continue their attempts to kill Sookie Stackhouse, Eric remains hot hot hot, Bill remains a bore and Jason becomes a half-Were. Oh, and Alcide turns out to be a lot less attractive. What a jerk! He was so completely selfish in this book, I don’t know if I will ever be attracted to him again. Arg! We are also introduced to Quinn, a Were tiger, who will undoubtably make a reappearance in the next book.

One of my favorite scenes in the novel is an exchange between Sookie and Eric. Frustrated with his memory blank from the days he spent with Sookie – a victim of a witch’s curse – Eric trades a favor for this information.

“Did we have sex?” he asks directly.

For about two minutes, this might actually be fun. “Eric,” I said, “we had sex in every position I could imagine, and some I couldn’t. We had sex in every room in my house, we had sex outdoors. You told me it was the best you’d ever had.” (At the time, he couldn’t recall all the sex he’d ever had. But he’d paid me a compliment.) “Too bad you can’t remember it,” I concluded with a modest smile (p 323).

And then I forgive the book its ridiculousness and embrace the hilarious, the playfulness.

Leave a Reply

