Club Dead by Charlaine Harris (2005)

I met Eric’s eyes as I felt Ray Don’s mouth sucking at the wound. Eric was holding my hands, and I was digging my nails into him like we were doing something else. He won’t mind, I thought, as I realized I’d drawn blood.

And sure enough, he didn’t. “Let go,” he advised me, and I loosened my grip on his hands. “No, not of me,” he said smiling.” “You can hold on to me as long as you want. Let go of the pain, Sookie. Let go. You need to drift away” (p 247).

clubdead1Sookie travels to Jackson, Mississippi to find her missing boyfriend, Bill only to discover Bill hadn’t planned on returning to Sookie. Instead, he shacked up with his former vampire lover, Lorena. But when Sookie learns Bill is being tortured by Lorena and the vampire King of Mississippi, she feels she must rescue him.

With help from the ruggishly handsome Alcide and the ever-present and understated Eric, Sookie is successful. She doesn’t escape without a few bruises and a stake in her side. With Eric’s vampire blood helping to heal her, she returns to Bon Temps worse for the wear only to find a pack of Weres in wait. Sookie is feisty though, leaving Bill and Eric time to rescue her once again. In the final act, Sookie rescinds both Eric and Bill’s invitation into her house.

While I love the growing romance/attraction between Sookie and Eric, the computer program Bill was working on was a rather thin plot device. I simply love the more subtle roles Jason and Sam play but I missed the edgier Russel Edginton and the apparently nonexistant connection between Godric and Eric. Of course, I’m already sinking my teeth into Dead to the World.

Leave a Reply

