I Want My Hat Back by Jon Klassen (2011)

My hat is gone.
I want it back.

I Want My Hat BackBear’s hat is missing. Being very fond of his hat, he searches for it. He asks each animal he passes, “Have you seen my hat?” Each replies differently but always in the negative. Until he realizes he has seen his hat! He rushes to confront the thief. Things do not end well for the thief.

Slick and simple illustrations accompany sparse wording to perfectly convey tone. I enjoyed this book so much, I ordered a copy for my personal library.

This book has me thinking. At ALA Annual 2010, I attended a session called “Purple Crayons, Random Dots, and Peanut Butter Sandwiches: Using Children’s Picture Books to Spark Creativity in the Work Place” (view my summary). I found the idea of using children’s picture books to address creativity interesting.

Then I came across Boss Baby by Marla Frazee (read my review) and I thought, “This is a metaphor for workplace managers.” Yet talking about management within an organization (especially problems with management) can be difficult. Wouldn’t picture books be a gentle method of starting discussions?

So now I’m rethinking many picture books, seeing them as gentle segues into conversations about people, organizational structure and processes.

I Want My Hat is ripe for discussing individual communication, motivation, emotions and the behaviour of our colleagues. Read a great blog post from Publisher’s Weekly.

Now I’m off to put together a staff training (and I use the word ‘training’ loosely) based on my epiphany. Cross your fingers. I hope someone is interested in supporting it! ha ha.

Library copy | September 27, 2011 | Candlewick Press | Pre-K | ISBN 978-0763655983 | $15.99

Leave a Reply

